Pretty In Pink

  I had been collecting pink fabrics for quite a while to make this new pattern.  I found the perfect brown (with just a touch of red to blend with the pinks) and started to play with transition within one color.

Maria Paegler, www.quiltsandcreativity.com, is hosting a color of the month on her blog.  January was white and February is pink.  My latest pattern, “Pretty in Pink” is number 9.  The other quilts are awesome and all nine have different tips for working with pinks.  Maria is the author of Color Mastery: 10 Principles forCreating Stunning Quilts. Check out the book at www.colormastery.com.

Trying to transition pinks, I had to audition many prints trying to find the right blend of shades and tints.  Now that I like the arrangement, my dilemma is how to make it larger?  Do I repeat the transition as large rectangles or surround it with further transition?  My idea was not to add borders per se but to have the blocks run to the edge of the quilt.  When I enter quilt stores now, the pinks call to me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Color

Leave a comment