Piecing with Flannel

As the weather gets warmer and spring finally arrives, I am in the sewing room working with flannel.  I have found that large, fairly simple patterns work well with flannel.  I have been writing the directions for a local quilt shop, Quilter’s Haven, for this pattern.  It is fast and easy to put together and flannel would make it really comfortable.

I pulled some fabrics from my stash and thought they color coordianted well.  As the blocks came together, and I stepped back from the design wall, I discovered that the green corner sqaures of the inner frame do not quite fit with the other brighter colors.

Flannel is easy to work with.  The local quilt shops have a wide selection of beautiful colors and well woven flannels.  It is worth the extra cost to purchase the heavier, better made flannels from the quilt shops.  Thin flannels will wear much more quickly over time and they also pill more easily. 

I do prewash my flannels and have not had a problem working with them.  Flannel will stretch a bit more than 100% cotton fabrics, making it easier to match points but is also something to be aware of.  I also really like using flannel for backings on all of my quilts.  It is softer than 100% cotton and it makes sense to me to have a soft fiber on the side next to your skin.  Flannel machine quilts easily either with a walking foot or a darning foot for free motion quilting.

Explore posts in the same categories: Pattern Designs

Leave a Reply

